Gil Evans: Great Jazz Standards Blue Note Tone Poet Series

The item showcased on this page may earn us a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Learn more.

[acf_views view-id=”95″ name=”Artist, Label, Genre”]

[acf_views view-id=”117″ name=”Run, Color, Discs”]


Gil Evans, the brilliant arranger who had previously collaborated with Miles Davis on Birth of the Cool and Miles Ahead, created two exceptional albums for World Pacific: New Bottle Old Wine (1958) and Great Jazz Standards (1959). The latter features notable artists such as Johnny Coles, Steve Lacy, Budd Johnson, Elvin Jones, and more. The Blue Note Tone Poet Series presents these albums with all-analog, remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging, allowing listeners to experience the timeless music in high-quality audio.


A1: Davenport Blues
A2: Straight No Chaser
A3: Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
A4: Joy Spring
B1: Django
B2: Chant Of The Weed
B3: Theme

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top