Metallica: 72 Seasons

The item showcased on this page may earn us a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Learn more.

[acf_views view-id=”95″ name=”Artist, Label, Genre”]

[acf_views view-id=”117″ name=”Run, Color, Discs”]


Metallica’s 12th studio album, 72 Seasons, is set to release on April 14, 2023, through the band’s own Blackened Recordings. Produced by Greg Fidelman alongside Hetfield & Ulrich, this 12-track album, spanning over 77 minutes, marks the band’s first full-length collection of new material since 2016’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct. James shared insights into the album title’s concept, explaining that “72 seasons” represent the first 18 years of our lives, during which our true or false selves are formed based on what our parents tell us about who we are. He finds the ongoing examination of these core beliefs and their impact on our worldview fascinating, as much of our adult experience is a reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. The album delves into the theme of being prisoners of childhood or breaking free from the bondages we carry throughout our lives.


Disc: 1
1 72 Seasons
2 Shadows Follow
3 Screaming Suicide
Disc: 2
1 Sleepwalk My Life Away
2 You Must Burn!
3 Lux Æterna
Disc: 3
1 Crown of Barbed Wire
2 Chasing Light
3 If Darkness Had a Son
Disc: 4
1 Too Far Gone?
2 Room of Mirrors
3 Inamorata

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top